Ruins of the mediaeval Herbeumont Castle
On a rocky outcrop overlooking the River Semois and the village of Herbeumont are the ruins of the thirteenth-century Herbeumont Castle, an Exceptional Walloon Heritage Site, open to the public free of charge. The castle was built by John of Rochefort in 1268, and burnt down in 1657 by the French troops of Marshal de la Ferté on the orders of King Louis XIV.From the ruined keep and Mill Rock, visitors can enjoy panoramic views of the Knight’s Tomb and the river. A short stroll along the river bank leads to the delightful ruins of Conques Priory.
English guidebook available at the tourist office.